Product reviews for Dave's Gourmet Insanity Sauce

Write your own review
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
wide mouth, worst acid reflux of my life
never had acid reflux last longer than a couple hours... then I had this on my burrito. The problem with this bottle is that it is almost impossible to use 'one drop' at a time, because the mouth is too wide.
bad bottle, wish I could have savored the hot sauce little by little.
Guest | 03/01/2019 09:34
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Didn’t know what it was when I used it
I use hot sauce whenever I make a noodle dish, just to give it a little kick... Well, long story short the sauce dumped in my bowl (maybe about 3 tablespoons) I ate it anyways, it tasted amazing, but by the time I got to the broth my mouth was burning. About two hours later the food literally came right back out..... Be careful with this one!
Guest | 29/03/2018 09:29
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A great addition to a Mexican
Put three small drops onto a taco with spicy beef and I didn't need to rush around the room. It doesn't take away the flavours of the other food, so I would recommend it to heat-lovers. However, I definitely wouldn't put any more than I did on such small fingerfood. Can't wait for my next chili!
Guest | 21/03/2018 08:35
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The best
This is my 'go-to' sauce for all occasions.
It has just the right amount of heat for me.
I use it to spice up bland curries and liven up dull bbq burgers.
Great stuff!
Guest | 28/02/2018 23:25
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by dan
This is best sauce i ever tasted it is by far the hottest sauce and gets hotter with drinking pepsi or coke it's a real winner at time a tasted it in 2000 it burned for a loooooooong time
12/10/2016 04:42
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Terra
I have tried quite a few different sauces now but keep coming back to this. It is not the hottest but that is actually useful as it makes it easy to get the amount right. You can pour drops on and not worry about measuring it carefully. Good stuff.
05/07/2015 18:57
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Captain Bob
Last night smashed a bottle of this on the tiled floor, before I could get to it, the cat stepped into it.. Lucky we managed to grab it before it ran through the cat-flap, have you tried cleaning hot sauce of a cats paws? This stuff is a bio-hazard !
24/02/2015 09:48
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/1)
Review by Richard
I dropped a bottle of this on the kitchen floor - it smashed. We had to evacuate the kitchen.
05/02/2015 10:31
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Accidentally added around a teaspoon full on a cheese sandwich (newly opened bottle). Too hot in that concentration. Great taste, if applied sparingly with the back end of a spoon. :)
30/04/2014 00:55
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Danny
I found out about this stuff years ago but never tried it. I have been trying to build up hot sauce tolerance to eat the "Ghost" Pepper. I tried this at a local restaurant and it honestly wasn't that hot. Although I wouldn't eat a bunch at a time.
08/08/2013 16:03
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Dave (Not 'The' Dave)
Fantastic Sauce, I use it at least once a week even for a drop in ketchup with some chips. Goes great in microwave rice packets too. Love it, Love it, Love it!! Good to test on mates too, you know the ones who always say they can eat the HOT stuff.
22/05/2013 17:49
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Blair
Mostly an extract sauce, very metallic taste. heat rating is nice and hot but there are other sauces just as hot with far better taste.
22/11/2012 12:20
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/2)
Review by Davie
My friend introduced me to this sauce, cheers malky my arse has been on fire ever since, tastes great but makes your ring piece glow in the dark. Just the right amount of heat going in burns like a blow torch coming out.
10/09/2012 23:39
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Review by Alex W
Love this stuff. At the limit of where a chilli sause goes from sauce to heat source. Used in cooking, it adds a flavoursome heat without ruining the underlying flavours but it does have a flavour of it's own that satisfying
21/08/2012 15:00
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by KingofWisdom
This is one of those hot novelty sauces. It's hot, but it's still tame enough to be used on single food servings. The sauce is best when watered down in a saucy dish. If you lick a drop from your finger, the flavor is pretty bad. Bitter and plastic-y
02/06/2012 05:41
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
Review by James
One word: wow. The level of heat in this sauce is crazy, but a nice distinctive flavour too when you adjust to the burn. Use very sparingly if you need to kick things up a notch, or bring out at parties to melt away any false bravado!
30/05/2012 19:32
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by ChilliCthulhu
I got impatient on the way back from the shops and tried a dab as I was driving home, big mistake! Excellent heat and flavour as an additive or when used sparingly but not something you'd necessarily want to be tasting neat.
03/04/2012 22:48
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Trey
A stable for me. I keep a bottle at home and at work. Excellent when I want to feel a strong, lasting burn. Heat peaks at about 10 minutes and can last as long as 20.

Brush it on short ribs for a BBQ to remember.
30/03/2012 18:01
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Well what can you say this is the hottest stuff I've had ever.  It was fantastic.  I have 4 drops in my sandwedges for lunch very plesent burn.
27/02/2012 11:37
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Crob
Pretty good stuff, just put this up against Wanza with some corn chips.  It's funny to read the reviews of folks who haven't familiarized their taste buds to extremely spicy food review an extreme hot sauce.  Of course there is no flavor to you.
05/12/2011 20:49
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by kate
use this instead of chilli powder, theres no taste just heat, you cannot use it raw on food, awful stuff.
29/07/2011 21:31
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/3)
Insanely tasty and lights you on FIRE~  Most hotsauces are just hot no flavor.  This one has fire and flavor -a personal favorite of mine!
29/05/2011 02:54
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by The Doctor
I've had a tablespoon of 1m SHU natural sauces and survived but this guy bites me harder than that!? Probably individual so don't buy accordingly. Don't know what ingredient does my head in but this guy bites. Good flavor but nothing I'd revisit.
22/05/2011 06:04
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Review by Allen
Just the right level of heat for me and it tasted very good.  However, it develops a bit of a strange bitterness as you continue to eat it.  
31/03/2011 23:57
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Sal
A fantastic sauce that edges away from other sauces that claim to be hottt.  I tend to drop this into my soups, dinners and sarnies.  A very long lasting burn will be experienced, but I love it.
31/01/2011 09:29
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Tyler
I love spicy food, and sometimes you want a burn, and sometimes you want comfortable heat...this is a burn. Was hot and burned for probably 20 minutes.  Worth the price. Called it hot, I figure medium would be a comfortable level, so this is hot.
11/12/2010 22:08
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Review by Nathan Thompson
I'm a fan of hot pepper sauces and spicy food so naturally I poured a spoonfull over my chips. Big mistake... this sauce is tasty but dangerously hot. I was sweating, mouth was stinging, it took me a whole hour to complete my dinner.
22/11/2010 09:49
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by BG
Be careful. I put a capful of this stuff on a tortilla chip. Besides being incredibly hot, it altered my sense of taste for a while.

To cool off I drank a beer which tasted like sweet soda pop. Normal taste returned in 20 minutes.
26/10/2010 20:29
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Dustin Still
I ate a heaping tablespoon straight of this one night to one-up my friends. I hallucinated for 45 minutes straight, then vomited profusely while feeling like someone slashed my stomach open with a knife. I then got ulcers, IT WAS GOOD THOUGH!!!!
03/10/2010 01:58
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Review by Nick Gall
Added this sparingly to a noodle stir fry dish...it's got a great kick and an enjoyable flavour. Recommend it for definite but advise using it carefully
14/09/2010 23:22
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Amy
My friend and I are at war with trying to cause eachother as much pain with Chili sauce...so far I would have to say he is winning!!! ha ha
24/08/2010 10:34
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Ben
I prefer this to many of the other "silly hot" sauces. With Da Bomb it is easy to go too far and just get pain. With Dave's it is easier to put in enough to get the heat up without it becoming an ordeal to try and eat it. Spread like Marmite - great.
16/06/2010 11:16
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Dave
This stuff is great - I have Da Bomb ground zero,which is mental but I like this. You can put enough in to taste the sauce not just the heat. Spread thin in burgers it is great or add to chilli. This is my hot sauce of choice these days - fairly safe
15/06/2010 16:10
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Jonsey
I thought it was O.K. but if you want a good hit of heat try Dave's Gourmet Ghost Pepper sauce Have been taking it around at work and enjoying the reactions He He.
09/06/2010 17:35
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
ridiculously hot and i'm indian and addicted to spicy foods!
01/05/2010 22:33
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Chuckmuchingo
Found this sauce in 1998 for summer party I was hosting. Really gorgeous girl thought she was a lad and had half a teaspoon...oh dear..tears, tears, tears! Obviously I had to comfort her ;-)
01/04/2010 10:14
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Ian
Being a regular hot sauce user, I thought Daves insanity would be like the rest so I ignored the warnings and used my normal amount.......I was an idiot! This stuff is what I`ve been searching for. I will never buy another hot sauce. Dave`s rocks!
23/03/2010 20:39
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
painfully hot!! but also very addictive great on a bacon sandwhich
11/01/2010 01:12
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by GTHO-over rated, over priced
My bottle is 10 years old. A spoonful in a frying pan of spag bog had me reaching for the ice cubes. Love it, but treat with RESPECT. Great for trying out mates who "can handle hot food" Soon sorts out the men from the ford lovers
09/01/2010 06:18
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by Davi
The delayed heat hits your lungs pretty hard and leaves a slightly bitter taste in your mouth,that I found a little unpleasant. give it a try you might enjoy it.
08/01/2010 18:33
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
It Made me pooooooo
04/01/2010 12:38
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by Ramesh Daswani
It is a  great sauce and I enjoy mixing in my food to give extra hot taste, Just half a drop is enough. I wish they were available in stores in London/UK the full variety of Dave sauces.
Keep this sauce in stock all the times please
07/11/2009 11:27
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by tibbz
I put one drop on a fried chicken burger... started out mild and then BOOM nuclear fission. It was religious, I saw God and it said "Holy shit that's hot stuff". Awesome.
16/10/2009 16:54
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by S-O-T Newbie
I've been playing about with chilli sauces and even had a taste of a Dorset Naga (wish i hadn't). Just bought some of Dave's sauce from Morrisons and its amazing. My tongue is still numb! Lovely!
26/09/2009 12:26
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by jason
this is the best hot sause. i love it but it is too hot for my mum and sis if you love hot sause this is the one for you
18/09/2009 09:22
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Kevin E
Great to have around the apartment or house. Its the best when someone who thinks they can handle the hottest stuff in the world...until you give them some DAVES. It changes their perception of hotness immediately. 10/10
11/09/2009 07:51
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by stowie
Every kitchen should have a bottle of dave's.  Great stuff.  Use sparingly - my last bottle lasted nearly 7 years!
06/09/2009 17:37
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Stefan
Works really well with a steak or tacos, great flavour and balanced heat.
A must have!
07/08/2009 16:52
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by RupeeClock
I always fancied a real hot flavour, and insanity sauce has shown me what a real world of pain is out there.
I put a little on a cheap burgerking burger, what a punch! I handled it no problem since I only used a little, but it's potent! Great stuff.
20/07/2009 18:12
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Stuart Sweeting
The legend that started it all!!!! How many chilliheads begun with this spicy little number?  An induction like no other as it is very hot for beginners but sets you up on the road to endorphin heaven!!!
09/06/2009 01:18
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Big Guy
Told the guys at work about this stuff, So took the bottle in for a tasting session, two guys got table spoons out to try it, managed to talk them into just dipping the tip of their little fingers into the cap! They thanked me afterwards.
05/03/2009 04:52
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Scratchydog
First tried this in 1998 it was the hottest sauce i had ever tasted which still holds to this day
03/03/2009 19:20
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Joeywag
Put some on my scouse brakie la, pure hotsy on my tongue. Alway's have some with my teasie. Also good for cleaning stains off my trainees la.
08/02/2009 11:05
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by stu
Fantastically hot sauce.I put 1 and a  half teaspoons on a pizza base hotter than the depths of hell. And the next day was like putting neat battery acid on ur bottom. It rocks
12/01/2009 22:20
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Charlie!
This is the best stuff! ever. Great on pizza, pasta, chilie and nachos. Sweet and Firey I get closer to finishing a bottle before the experation date:) I keep on buying IT!
26/11/2008 18:04
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by adam
i have made your sauce a god. No one has top it.
07/11/2008 22:58
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Ferret Face
Taste isn't amazing but is ideal for adding heat to soups, noodles, beans and other sauces (eg Blair's Original Death). Great sauce for testing out on a friend who reckons they can handle heat!.
22/10/2008 23:27
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by mark wade
put the toilet roll in the freezer and book an hour in the bog, this is some seriously hot shit !
28/09/2008 20:09
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Sean
I hear this stuff is over 500,000 SHU... This still is HOT. I don't think I've ever had a pepper hotter than this and yet the Naga's are rated at 1,000,000 and I've had one....
27/09/2008 20:42
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by MountainGuy
My habanero-loving son-in-law got me a 4-pack of Dave's sauces and I worked my way up to this really insane sauce over 10 wings.  Holy Cr..!  I later added a cap and a half of it to 3 qrts of baked beans for a party and it was too much. Use sparingly
04/09/2008 23:35
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by FireForce
Dam this stuff is hot..I was sweating like a glass blowers arse!
13/06/2008 11:11
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Review by Dave W
It made my hair sweat!!
Lovely heat with a nice flavour although you do have to start VERY carefully with one drop at a time and work up to your own level. Tried a drop neat on my finger and REALLY wished I hadn't! Great in sarnies or in noodles.
09/05/2008 05:40
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Jack
We had this on board a submarine I was stationed on, we mostly used it to play jokes on new guys.  But I acquired a taste for it.  It goes great with anything that needs that extra kick.  I found a couple bottles later and hope I can find more.
21/04/2008 00:27
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Anon!
Left some in the fridge at my in-laws.  The greedy brother in law came home and helped himself some cheese and some sauce.  He thinks its quite hot.  That'll teach him!
26/03/2008 16:11
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by john parks
this stuff is hooooooooooooooooooooooooooooot i smelled it and past out it was so hot
18/01/2008 16:50
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by austin moses acme
i just took a teaspoon of your hot sauce let me say it was almost hot it's burning pretty bad my face has went a little numb but it had a real good flavor
18/01/2008 17:25
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Mark
My cousin and I tried some for fun today, he took 2 drops and i took 4, IT WAS CRAZY!! the burn lasted for 15-20 minutes and had me sweating buckets, i'm not a hot sauce fanatic, but this stuff is only good for a laugh, not practical use.
31/12/2007 06:24
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by uncle_sam
Excellent taste.
Too hot for beginners thinking tabasco is hot.

But for me the sauce is ideal for pasta, sauces and meat.
The sauce is really hot, but has also a perfect taste.
05/12/2007 16:19
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by tony
when i was based at wimbledon fire station a few years ago we got a few fireman from another watch to dip their finger in bottle. then the fearless ex royal marine said give me a tea spoon full. we did, he swallowed well the funniest thing ive seen.
27/11/2007 22:13
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I like 3-4 drops per bowl of chili or gumbo. I won't ever need anything hotter. Has a strange and powerful taste.
04/10/2007 02:54
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Borg - London SW11
Hot Dog! This blew the muttz nuttz off previous sauces - one 1/2 teaspoon for a chilli con carne!! Great for diets and beats a sauna!
10/09/2007 23:11
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Peter H
First time trier.  Absolutely amazing - hot and tasty.  Great on a burger!
28/08/2007 14:50
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Christine
We always keep a bottle on hand. I make a GREAT BBQ chicken recipe with it that everyone loves. Its so addicting my kids will inhale it before it ever makes it to the fridge....with red lips of course. :-)
27/08/2007 05:28
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Hankie Pankie
a sauce for those who think "mild is a four-letter word"
23/07/2007 10:05
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Ian
I've seen people sample these by putting a drop on a cracker.  The label asks you to use the sauce a drop at a time.  The drops must be too big cos I had to run for the sink where I drank about a gallon of water and 2 pints of milk.  INSANE
26/06/2007 13:02
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by King Boris XII
You only need half a teaspoonful to make 5 litres of chilli like rocket fuel. Truly insane but sublime with it.
07/06/2007 17:23
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Jesus this stuff will strip wallpaper, Has to be the Hottest sauce around. Marvelous stuff.
23/05/2007 17:53
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Jan
The name says it all, this sauce packs a punch way over its weight, incredible... quite simply insanity in a bottle..
I think the bottle will last me a while!
17/05/2007 05:08
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Kipps
Without a Doubt one of the finest 'Ring Reddeners' I have ever had the pleasure to taste. Burns going in & burns coming out - the signature of a true Hot Sauce!!!
16/05/2007 00:33
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by ChihliDog
This stuff is HOT HOT HOT!! A slow burn, though - it sneaks up on you. I have a bottle to mix with other habanero sauces. This stuff gets even hotter with each taste. The measuring stick for all other sauces. BE WARNED!
23/04/2007 08:35
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by slipperman
The hottest sauce i've ever tasted. Blow's your head off! I took this into work for a few mates to try. Talk about men turning into little babies. It sure makes your eyes water!
Fabulous sauce for cooking but be very care when adding to your dishes.
02/04/2007 12:29
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by jaugh
it was sooo hot it burneeeeddddd
31/03/2007 19:17
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by -Jerome
Excellent taste and heat. Makes for a great additive for your wing sauce. It has the best taste IMO (Better than Dave's Ultimate Insanity)
28/03/2007 16:09
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by maz
quite hot with an afterkick, taste not for me
13/02/2007 16:39
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Damo, England
I've had a bottle of this for 6 years now, you can't finish one. It's hot but tasty!
13/02/2007 17:14
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Kev
Take it too work. You know that person who says they can "eat the hottest curry" etc.
Make sure you give them a good tablespoon of this stuff - then stand well back.
09/01/2007 22:02
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by J B King
This is definately a hot sauce and has a unique, addictive taste. Well worth the money!
18/10/2006 16:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by DB
Dave's Original Insanity used to be the hottest but now there's so much stuff around that Dave's is not really that hot, right? WRONG... Agggghhh!!!
16/10/2006 10:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Ant
Way, way too much heat...
16/10/2006 10:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by AD
Not that hot, more of a ketchup really ;)
16/10/2006 10:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Maddie
V. hot and not a nice flavour
16/10/2006 10:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Perry
Has anybody every finished a bottle of this stuff.
16/10/2006 10:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Why is this such a best seller, there's way much better stuff out there...
16/10/2006 10:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
There are hotter, but this has the taste with the hotness!!!
Use with caution, one drop too much and wow its like a nuke explosion in your mouth and lips.
Burnt my man area afer not washing hands properly, so girlfriend used ice cubes, great sex aid!
11/06/2006 19:36
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Review by Jason
There may be hotter, but nothing with a better taste! Two thumbs up
12/03/2006 00:15
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)